The Emergence of the Sympathetic Witch in Twentieth-Century Culture

MV5BMTU5OTkzNDIyOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjk1OTEzMQ@@._V1._CR30,34,304,426_SY317_CR6,0,214,317_AL_

I’ve been wondering lately how neatly the sympathetic witch corresponds to the rise of the sympathetic vampire in twentieth-century culture?  I was named after one very memorable good witch, Samantha Stephens below, played by Elizabeth Montgomery (my parents were huge fans). I think her dates are 1964-72. The show was written by Claudio Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  This is of course the same era that gave us I Dream of Jeanie (1965-70) A show in which an American astronaut finds his life vastly complicated when he stumbles on a bottle containing a female genie!! I’d love to know your thoughts on when the figure of the sympathetic witch first emerged in the twentieth century and why?

MV5BMjI3MzgzODIwNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTY5MDgzMjE@._V1_UY100_CR16,0,100,100_AL_

About Lucy Northenra

Dr Sam George, Coffin Boffin, Senior Lecturer in Literature, University of Hertfordshire, Convener Open Graves, Open Minds Project
This entry was posted in Critical thoughts, Fun stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Emergence of the Sympathetic Witch in Twentieth-Century Culture

  1. Pingback: The Emergence of the Sympathetic or Reluctant Vampire in Twentieth-Century Culture | Open Graves, Open Minds

  2. Pingback: Witches from Fiction, Witches from History | Open Graves, Open Minds

  3. Pingback: How did I choose me my witchcraft kin? Past and future in Witches | Open Graves, Open Minds

  4. Pingback: I Saw Three Witches | Open Graves, Open Minds

Leave a comment